Free Article
Directory Submission ServicesSocial Bookmarking Services

Article Submission - Submit Your Article Here

Free Article Center Home > Animals and Pets

AKC Dog Breeds - Learning More About Purebred Dogs

For the uninitiated, the words "AKC Dog Breed" might be confusing. What exactly does the acronym "AKC" stand for? It stands for the American Kennel Club. The AKC serves as the registry for all purebred puppies in the United States of America.

This club holds obedience competitions and dog shows, maintains dog standards and registers puppies of AKC-recognized breeds. Simply put, this is the benchmark by which all dogs are judged against to be seen as purebreds. There are over 100 different dog breeds registered with the AKC.

You do, however, need documentation from both the puppies parents In order to register the puppy. Purebred litters are registered shortly after the puppies are born. The breeder will get registration forms to enter individual puppies into the AKC registration when the litter is 2 months old. New owners can decide to register their puppies by sending in applications to the AKC for a bona fide acknowledgment.

There are eight different types of AKC dog breeds, including the Hound Group, the Sporting Group, the Working Group, the Non-Working Group, the Toy Group and the Terrier Group. Each dog competes within their group and within its breed during competitions.

Dogs that have a natural affinity to chase other animals and work as superb hunters are placed in the Hound Group. They can be either slow and methodical or fast and impatient like the Greyhound.

Next, the Sporting Group is active, hard-working dogs. They need a lot of exercise and will spend hours retrieving and spotting objects for their owners. Both the Cocker Spaniel and Golden Retriever are examples of the Sporting Group.

The Working Group is breeds such as the Doberman Pinschers or Rottweilers. Their main priority is to safeguard their territory and family. They tend to be strong and full of spirit, with a innate desire to safeguard and keep watch.

The Non-Working Group, on the other hand, is a collection of dogs that do not fit in the other categories. Everything from the Standard Poodle to the Boston Terrier belong to this group.

As the name hints, the Toy Group consists of dogs that are smaller in size, an example being the Miniature Pinscher.

Last but not least, Yorkies and Scottish Terriers, like other dogs that have the innate desire to hunt mice are categorized under the Terrier Group.

There is yet another group called the Miscellaneous Group which is where the AKC puts new breeds that are still establishing themselves in the registry. Although AKC is the most well-known club in USA, there are other clubs like the United Kennel Club, the American Canine Association, the Canine Kennel Club and the North American Purebred Dog Registry.

Owners can request that their dogs be accredited with the AKC and submit a formal request, allowing AKC to assess their application. For instance, Australian dogs are accredited in the Victorian Canine Association while Canadian dog owners need to register their dog under the Canadian Kennel Club.

Free Article Source:

About The Author: Moses Wright loves to help pet owners with their pet dog problems whenever he is free. You can find free pet problems and solutions resources, dog breeds selection tips and guide on his site.

Submit An Article | Free Article Resource